10th International NCCR Climate Summer School 2011

Climate Change, Extremes and Ecosystem Services

4 - 9 September 2011
Grindelwald, Switzerland


The topics covered at the NCCR Climate Summer School 2011 included:

  • Ecological implications of climate change and weather extremes
  • Ecosystem services and climate change: forests, grasslands and croplands
  • Food security: coping with climate change in agriculture
  • Global land and water use in a changing climate

The Summer School invited young researchers from all fields of climate and climate impact research. The courses covered a broad spectrum of climate impact research issues and foster cross-disciplinary links. Each topic included keynote plenary lectures and workshops with in-depth discussion in smaller groups. All Summer School participants presented a poster of their research and there was ample opportunity for discussion. An excursion lead to exciting research sites.

Keynote Speakers

International speakers

  • Philippe Ciais, LSCE, F
  • David Lobell, U Stanford, USA
  • Hermann Lotze-Campen, PIK, Germany
  • Jack A. Morgan, USDA/ARS, USA

Swiss speakers

  • Nina Buchmann, ETH Zurich
  • Harald Bugmann, ETH Zurich
  • Pierluigi Calanca, ART Zurich
  • Urs Feller, U Bern
  • Robert Finger, ETH Zurich
  • Jürg Fuhrer, ART Zurich
  • Baris Karapinar, U Bern
  • Christian Körner, U Basel
  • Sonia Seneviratne, ETH Zurich
  • Willy Tinner, U Bern
  • Marc Wüest, Swiss Re

List of Participants

  • Franziska Aemisegger, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Anders Ahlström, Lund University, Sweden
  • Silvia Maria Alfieri, CNR ISAFOM, Italy
  • Julien Gérard Anet, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Renate Auchmann, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Laura Batlle Bayer, University of Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Christine Bollig, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Antonello Bonfante, CNR ISAFOM, Italy
  • Petra Breitenmoser, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Yuri Brugnara, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Susanne Burri, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Ethan Butler, Harvard University, USA
  • Tommy Chan, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Kerstin Damerau, IIASA, Austria
  • Andrea Damm, University of Graz, Austria
  • Pawlok Dass, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany
  • Evangelia Drakou, Joint Research Centre of European Commission, Italy
  • Anne-Kathrin Faust, HEC Geneva, Switzerland
  • Robert Finger, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Jörg Franke, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Anna Katarina Gilgen, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Daniel Goll, Max-Planck-Institute for Meteorology, Germany
  • Maria Grundström, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Benoît Guillod, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Jessica Haas, University of Montana, USA
  • Stephanie Hänsel, TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Germany
  • Anja Hermans, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany
  • Rebecca Hiller, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Annelie Holzkämper, Agroscope Reckenholz-Tänikon, Switzerland
  • Jan Horak, Agroscope Reckenholz-Tänikon, Switzerland
  • Martín Jacques-Coper, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Tyler Jones, University of Colorado, USA
  • Ines Kapphan, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Gregory King, Swiss Federal Institute WSL, Switzerland
  • Tommy Klein, Agroscope Reckenholz-Tänikon, Switzerland
  • Lalitha Krishnan, National Centre for Biological Sciences, India
  • Lauri Laakso, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland
  • Gwendoline Lagressonniere, Météo France – CNRM, France
  • Niklaus Lehmann, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Flavio Lehner, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Daiana Leuenberger, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Dario Liberati, Università degli Studi della Tuscia, Italy
  • Eliska Lorencova, Charles University, Czech Republic
  • Ruth Lorenz, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Corina Manusch, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Cecilia Olsson, Lund University, Sweden
  • Rene Orth, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Albert Ossó, University of Barcelona, Spain
  • Sunitha Rao Pangala, The Open University, UK
  • Eva Plavcová, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Czech Republic
  • Ulrike Port, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Germany
  • Ulrich Prechsl, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Juliane Preukschas, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Christine Rollinson, The Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Carolyn Schäfer, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Sebastian Schemm, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Lisa Schüler, University of Göttingen, Germany
  • Vanessa Schweizer, National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA
  • Christoph Schwörer, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Sebastian Zielis, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Benjamin Stocker, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Franziska Taubert, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research, Germany
  • Fitzgerald Temmerman, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Eline Vanuytrecht, K.U.Leuven, Belgium
  • Jan Volland, University of Kassel, Germany
  • Richard Wartenburger, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Ying Zhang, University of Adelaide, Australia
  • Katrin Zink, MeteoSwiss, Switzerland