11th International Swiss Climate Summer School 2012

The Water Cycle in a Changing Climate:Observations, Scenarios, Impacts

9 - 14 September 2012
Centro Stefano Franscini, Monte Verità, Ticino, Switzerland


The topics covered at the NCCR Climate Summer School 2012 included:

  • Observed variations of the water cycle
  • Physical processes governing the hydrological response to climate change
  • Scenarios of the water cycle in a changing climate
  • Anticipated impacts

The Summer School invited young researchers from all fields of climate and climate impact research. The courses covered a broad spectrum of climate impact research issues and foster cross-disciplinary links. Each topic included keynote plenary lectures and workshops with in-depth discussion in smaller groups. All Summer School participants presented a poster of their research and there was ample opportunity for discussion. An excursion lead to exciting research sites.

Keynote Speakers

International speakers

  • Myles R. Allen, U Oxford, UK
  • Dennis L. Hartmann, U Washington, USA
  • Isaac M. Held, GFDL, Princeton, USA
  • Valerie Masson-Delmotte, LSCE, France

Swiss speakers

  • Christof Appenzeller, MeteoSwiss
  • Stefan Brönnimann, U Bern
  • Nicolas Gruber, ETH Zurich
  • Wolfgang Kinzelbach, ETH Zurich
  • Reto Knutti, ETH Zurich
  • Mark Liniger, MeteoSwiss
  • Ulrike Lohmann, ETH Zurich
  • Thomas Peter, ETH Zurich
  • Dominik Renggli, Swiss Re
  • Christoph Schär, ETH Zurich
  • Thomas Stocker, U Bern

List of Participants

  • Nans Addor, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Franziska Aemisegger, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Stéphane Affolter, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Maria Åkesson, Lund University, Sweden
  • Benjamin Amann, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Renate Auchmann, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Nikolina Ban, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Omar Bellprat, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Britta Bockhorn, Copenhagen University, Denmark
  • Andreas Born, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Petra Breitenmoser, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Yuri Brugnara, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Michael Byrne, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Paulo Ceppi, University of Washington, USA
  • Rob Chadwick, Met Office Hadley Centre, United Kingdom
  • Ruth Comer, Met Office Hadley Centre, United Kingdom
  • Federico Cossu, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Edouard Davin, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Gijs De Cort, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Jonathan Eden, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • Andreas Fischer, MeteoSwiss, Switzerland
  • Jörg Franke, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Paul Froidevaux, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Paraskevi Giannakaki, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Franziska Glassmeier, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Wolfgang Gurgiser, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • Maria Zyta Hakuba, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Matthew Hannaford, The University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Hanieh Hassanzadeh, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Matthias Hummel, Karlsruhe Institute for Technology, Germany
  • Carley Iles, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Bradley Illston, University of Oklahoma, USA
  • Martín Sebastián Jacques Coper, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Fernando Jaramillo, Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Sarah Kapnick, Princeton University and GFDL/NOAA, USA
  • Denise Keller, MeteoSwiss, Switzerland
  • Kathrin Keller, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Michael Keller, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Christian Kerkhoff, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Zoltan Kern, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Andrew King, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Christoph Kormann, University of Potsdam, Germany
  • Miriam Kuebbeler, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Darren Larsen, University of Colorada / INSTAAR, USA
  • Flavio Lehner, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Petter Lind, Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute, Sweden
  • Corina Manusch, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Isabella Mariani, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland
  • Niklaus Merz, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Angela Meyer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Stefan Muthers, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Rene Orth, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Martin Ortner, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • Lukas Papritz, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Nicolas Piaget, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Anna Possner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Jan Rajczak, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Päivi Rinta, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Zuzana Rulfova, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Czech Republic
  • Nathalie Schaller, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Sebastian Schemm, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Jos Schilder, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Edgar Schmucki, WSL, Switzerland
  • Philipp Semenchuk, Tromsø University, Norway
  • Martin Singh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Maria Staudinger, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Isabelle Steinke, Karlsruhe Institute for Technology, Germany
  • Sarina Steinmann, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Alexander Stickler, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Tabea Stötter, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Richard Wartenburger, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Christoph Welker, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Bruno Wilhelm, University of Savoie - CNRS, France
  • Yijian Zeng, University of Twente, The Netherlands