12th International Swiss Climate Summer School 2013

From Climate Reconstructions to Climate Predictions

1 - 6 September 2013
Grindelwald, Switzerland


The topics covered at the NCCR Climate Summer School 2013 included:

  • Climate variability of the past two millennia and the next century
  • Calibrating proxies, modeling past climate, data-model comparison, detection and attribution
  • Rapid climate change and feedbacks, tipping points
  • Decadal predictability: theory and processes

The Summer School invited young researchers from all fields of climate research. The courses covered a broad spectrum of climate and climate impact research issues and have fostered cross-disciplinary links. Each topic included keynote plenary lectures and workshops with in-depth discussion in smaller groups. All Summer School participants presented a poster of their research and there was ample opportunity for discussion. During an excursion to a mountain hut, the participants had the opportunity to learn more about the climate, geological and settlement development of Grindelwald and its surroundings.

Keynote Speakers

International speakers

  • Clara Deser, NCAR, USA
  • Michael N. Evans, U Maryland, USA
  • Hugues Goosse, UC Louvain, Belgium
  • Gabriele C. Hegerl, U Edinburgh, UK
  • Timothy M. Lenton, U Exeter, UK
  • Jochem Marotzke, MPI Hamburg, Germany
  • Eduardo Zorita, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany

Swiss speakers

  • Jürg Beer, EAWAG & ETH Zurich
  • David Frank, WSL
  • Jörg Franke, U Bern
  • Oliver Heiri, U Bern
  • Fortunat Joos, U Bern
  • Christoph C. Raible
  • Heinz Wanner, U Bern
  • Heini Wernli, ETH Zurich

List of Participants

  • Carole Adolf, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Christopher Allen, University of Oxford, UK
  • Benjamin Amann, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Renate Auchmann, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Pepijn Bakker, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Jane Baldwin, Princeton Univeristy, USA
  • Omar Bellprat, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Andreas Born, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Marius Büchi, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Christoph Butz, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Michelle Chaput, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Dominic Clement, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Chris Colose, University at Albany , USA
  • Charlotte Cook, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Sylvia G. Dee, University of Southern California, USA
  • Tobias Erhardt, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Anne-Katrine Faber, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Paul Froidevaux, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Joelle Gergis, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Maria Zyta Hakuba, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Hanieh Hassanzadeh, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Alexander Haumann, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Anamaria Diana Häuselmann, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Lena Hellmann, WSL, Switzerland
  • Ivan Hernandez Almeida, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Michelle Ho, The University of Newcastle, Australia
  • Heli Huhtamaa, University of Eastern Finland, Finland
  • Fadil Inceoglu, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Martín Jacques Coper, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Michael Keller, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Kathrin Keller, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Clare Kelso, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Alena Kimbrough, Australian National University, Australia
  • François Klein, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • Stefan Klesse, WSL, Switzerland
  • Nico Kroener, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Matthew Ladd, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Sally Langford, University of Colorado, USA
  • Quentin Lejeune, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Andrew Macumber, Carleton University, Canada
  • Bo Madsen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Dominique Maier, Umea University, Sweden
  • Justin Mankin, Stanford University, USA
  • Anastasios Matsikaris, University of Birmingham , UK
  • Matthew Menary, Met Office Hadley Centre, UK
  • Stefan Muthers, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Stefanos Mystakidis, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Victoria Naipal, Max-Planck Institute for Meteorology, Germany
  • Luca Nisi, MeteoSwiss, Switzerland
  • Ryouta O'ishi, University of Tokyo , Japan
  • Magdalena Opala, University of Silesia, Poland
  • Pavlina Pavlova, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland
  • Tiziana Pedrotta, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Sarah Praskievicz, University of Oregon, USA
  • Jan Rajczak, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Gary Salazar, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Johannes Schindler, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland
  • Andrea Seim, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Guillaume Serazin, Université Joseph Fourier, France
  • Deepti Singh, Stanford University, USA
  • Peter Stucki, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Huiling Sun, Yunnan Normal University, China
  • Daniel Swain, Stanford University, USA
  • Louise Taylor, Newcastle University , UK
  • Andreas Veira, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Germany
  • Katharina Waha, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany
  • Martin Wegmann, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Christoph Welker, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Simon Yang, ETH Zürich, Switzerland